Meet some of the UIC MCHP students…

Amanda BennettAmanda Bennett
PhD student in Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Epidemiology

I chose UIC because: The MCH epidemiology program is nationally renowned for its strong focus on applied epidemiology.  They emphasize both a strong methodological/research base and a focus on making research applicable to real-life public health practice.

Job before coming to UIC: CSTE/CDC Applied Epidemiology Fellow at the Illinois Department of Human Services (2 year fellowship)

Organizations you are involved with (on or off campus): I am a volunteer leader for the Jr. and Sr. high youth group at my church in Evanston.

What’s next: Working on my dissertation so I can graduate!  I hope to find a job in a state health department as an MCH epidemiologist when I am done with my PhD.

Favorite Chicago spot(s): I love pizza in general, and Lou Malnati’s has my favorite Chicago-style pizza.

 

 

TalTalia Salzmania Salzman
MPH student in Maternal and Child Health

I chose UIC because: UIC has one of the most recognized MCH programs in America!

Job before coming to UIC: Undergraduate student at the University of British Columbia

Organizations you are involved with (on or off campus): MSAPH, Hillel

What’s next: Medical School! (fingers crossed)

One fun or interesting fact about you: I like to play jazz blues on the piano and compose music occasionally.

Favorite Chicago spot(s): Nacional 27- best salsa dance club.

 

 

Tamara KozyckyjTamara Kozyckyj
MPH student in Maternal and Child Health and Global Health 

I chose UIC because: Not only was the MPH program appealing with prestigious faculty members, known research and extensive network, but also the appeal of in-state tuition. In addition, Chicago is a city full of opportunities to learn more about global health and attend lectures/conferences and through UIC’s network I would have the chance to engage in these opportunities.

What’s next: Looking for a job that I can be passionate about.

One fun or interesting fact about your: Three days following my college graduation, I road tripped to Yosemite National Park with 3 friends for a week of hiking and breathtaking views before our summer jobs/commitments began. Eager to get there, we drove 36 hours (practically) non-stop from Chicago to our destination!

Favorite Chicago spot(s): Tecalitlan Mexican Restaurant (cheap, delicious, and awesome margaritas), Alliance Bakery (great little study nook), the theater district.

 

 

Yuka AsadaYuka Asada
PhD student in Maternal and Child Health

I chose UIC: because of my advisor and the interesting research projects.

Job before coming to UIC: Clinical Dietitian in Vancouver, Canada

Organizations you are involved with (on or off campus): Critical Dietetics, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

What’s next: World domination. Or, more likely, graduate and seek employment.

One fun or interesting fact about yourself: My father is a pastry chef and I am his apprentice.

Favorite Chicago spot(s): Green City Market

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

